NaPoWriMo Day 5 Prompt 6

“The key to success is not through achievement,
but through enthusiasm.”
– Malcolm Forbes

Chris Jarmick’s prompt for tomorrow is:

“Prompt #6 blank verse childhood memory-based

Todays prompt, write a blank verse semi-autobiographical about something from your childhood. It can be completely autobiographical if you like. Perhaps plays with the older style of language used by Wordsworth. Make it at least 10 lines and challenge yourself to write in a consistent meter.”

first a cinquain:

po~em
about childhood
in blank verse with ten lines
semi-autobiography
okay!

Actually today I was thinking about Cynghanedd, Welsh harmonies, instead of using vowel and/or accent repetition the Welsh use consonant patterns. It is hard to do in English, but fun to try. Cynghanedd I am told is pronounced king-ha-neth by the way. A simplified version is to write half of a line and repeat the consonants in the same order in the second half of the line.

I wrote this line / wry at the salon

Sort of like that only it might be better if it makes sense 🙂

Blank verse childhood memory at least ten lines prompt:

I expect to see
walls closing in and
then I do, awake
in the dark I hear
all the nighttime creaks
and frighten myself
all the more, but I
know a fool-proof trick
I pull the covers
over my head and
I am safe at last

Alright, meter is not my strong point, but I got a consistent syllable count.
How about more Cynghanedd?

I expect to see
x(ks) p c t t s
axe pick to toss

walls closing in and
w l s c l s n g n d
will sock all sing nod
or
owl is close in age nod
or
owls call sun again id

then I do, awake
th n d w k
they endow ick

in the dark I hear
n th d r k h r
know the drake hour

all the nighttime creaks
l th n g t m c r k s
lathe now get my car keys

and frighten myself
n d f r g t n m s l f
and forget animus leaf

all the more, but I
l th m r b t
loath my rabbit

know a fool-proof trick
n w f l p r f t r k
now fly pray fat rack
or
new flapper off track

I pull the covers
p l th c v r s
apple the key varies

over my head and
v r m h d n d
vie ram had no die
or
every May head nada

I am safe at last
m s f t l s t
misfit lasso too
or
my soft list
or
aims aft lo so tea
or
Miss F. Tulley sat

Like I said, its kind of hard to make sense. But it is a good exercise to help one become more aware of the different kinds of internal rhythms that make a poem work.

Leave a Reply

