NaPoWriMo Day 7 prompt 8

well prompt 7 and 8

from Chris Jarmick:

“Prompt #7

The Septolet is a poetry form I enjoy writing. Several are included in my collection of poetry (Ignition…). It’s easy to attempt—hard to master but let’s do a couple today. The Septolet (Sep-toe-lay) is a lesser known French form, its origin is in music and there’s two ways of writing the Septolet. So let’s write one of each today.

Septolet 1: Total of 14 words in 7 lines, no line should have more than three words. The poem should relate to one subject, object, thought or feeling. The first four lines create a coherent picture or thought, leave a blank line space and then write the last three lines which create another ‘picture’ or idea. Each could stand separately, but both are related.

Septolet 2: Line 1 has one syllable, Line 2 has two, Line 3 has 3, Line 4 has 4 syllables, leave a blank space, Line 5 has 3, Line 6 has 2, Line 7 has one syllable. Poem should relate to one thought, feeling, object, place.”

with the theme or title, you are what you eat:

I am
a jelly
doughnut
especially my middle

shark fin soup
a business
lunch

or a different second stanza

eating bamboo
why are
pandas fat?

or

seafood restaurant
full of
crabby people

now the syllable kind:

at
first I
could not see
the barista

but then she
dropped ten
plates

I like the first kind, but I’m not a fan of the syllable kind of septolet. So how about prompt 8?

“Prompt for Day 8

Writer, editor in chief of Author Magazine Bill Kenower often ends his interviews with writers with a fill in the blank sort of question: If writing, just writing has taught you anything—it has taught you what? Answer that directly or indirectly in a poem of any style you choose.”

writing, just writing

I’ve learned how the inside of my head works
and doesn’t
I have learned what influences me
what I have read that sticks with me
to say I have learned who I am may be over-stating it
but I have learned who I am not
and who I wish to be
and why flowers grow even when there is no one there to see them
I have learned to cope
with bad writing
with impatience
with distraction
I have learned which pens work best
how to type faster and with less errrrs
and I have learned who cares about me genuinely
writing has taught me to write
to listen
to be
to see
to become something more than a passive spectator in life
writing has not taught me how to live
only living has done that
writing has not taught me how to deal with unrequited love
or how to exfoliate without damaging my skin
or how to ride a bike
but I have learned from writing where I am going
the story I am living
and who the most important characters are to me
writing has taught me other lessons
that I do not remember
but if I keep writing
I am sure I will
someday

Leave a Reply

