NaPoWriMo Day 25 Prompt 26

Watching cable news, and came up with this:
If you don’t like smart-ass comments, you shouldn’t make dumb-ass statements.

And even better than that, (not surprisingly):

“Keep away from people who try to belittle your dreams. Small people always do that, but the really great ones make you feel that you too, can become great.”
– Mark Twain

from Chris Jarmick:

“Prompt 26– Parody! Take a poem you like (perhaps a classic, well known poem) and parody it. Share the original (or link to it if available).”

Here is the Michael Dylan Welch version of Basho:

old pond
a frog leaps in
sound of water

Parody:

dry pond
Kermit leaps in
sound of concussion

How about this one by Percy Bysshe Shelley:

Ozymandias

I met a traveller from an antique land
Who said: `Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
Stand in the desert. Near them, on the sand,
Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown,
And wrinkled lip, and sneer of cold command,
Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
Which yet survive, stamped on these lifeless things,
The hand that mocked them and the heart that fed.
And on the pedestal these words appear —
“My name is Ozymandias, king of kings:
Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!”
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare
The lone and level sands stretch far away.’

And the Parody:

Fred Tulley

I met a vagrant from right next door
Who slurred: `Two vasht and trunkerlessh legs oh my head
they’re in my back yard, on the ground.
Do’yoo know my brother? he’s a liar, he frowns alot,
And wrinkled lips, and sneers cold son-of-a-bitch,
Tell that freeloader to get off my lawn!
he’ll survive, stamped on him lifeless thing,
he always survives to mock me, heartless Fred.
He’s on the pedestal and theesh words appear —
“My name is Fred Tulley, king of kings:
Look at works, I’m better than you are, you suck!”
But look at him now! On the ground the deadbeat
that colossal wreck, passed out drunk
I’m all alone, and yoor so far away, cumon Fred, have another drink.’

I feel bad now, I like Shelley’s, Ozymandias and look what I did to it… I have to do penance now by reading poetry and going to bed.

Leave a Reply

