Ae Freislighe

An ae freislighe (ay fresh-lee) is an Irish form made of one or more four line stanzas. Each line has seven syllables and it has an A, B, A, B end rhyme scheme. Furthermore the end rhyming words have a required syllable count, lines one and three should have end rhyming words of three syllables, and lines two and four should have end rhyming words of two syllables. In this form, as with most Irish forms, the first word or phrase or syllable should be repeated as the last word or phrase or syllable of the poem.

I am sure this form would sound much simpler Irish or an Irish related language, after all the vast majority of forms were created as mnemonic devices. But in modern English it is kind of a complicated form.

An ae freislighe seems like a good form for a children’s poem, but I haven’t written that poem yet. I have written two one stanza examples, neither of which follow the form exactly, in both cases the first word/phrase which repeats in the end are two one syllable words, not one two syllable word as the rhyme/syllable scheme demands. But other than that I think I did a pretty good job.

untitled:

the wind begins blowingly
around me dry leaves transcend
their forms scatter flowingly
I too am bourn by the wind

This next one is a riddle poem (easy) and is inspired loosely by Chris Jarmick’s NAPOWRIMO prompt for April 12th. If you are not writing a poem a day during April, you should be! p.s. here is Chris’s site and his prompts: http://chrisjarmick.wordpress.com/
Anyway, I happened to see this movie on the same day as that prompt and I wrote this ae freislighe in response, forgive me the plot reference is not exact and again, I missed the preciseity (my very own word 🙂 ) of the form in two places.

___________

three times they sang calypso
dead they danced dead and sublime
the girl Edgar Allen Poe,
saved by saying this three times

That’s it for ae freisligh, for now, I am working on a slightly longer one, if it ever gets done I will post it too.

Leave a Reply

