NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 18

From Chris:

“Write a persona poem.”

I’m not who you think I am
I am my maker
I know this
he created me
a mirror of his twisted desire
the scars I wear on my skin
he wears in his soul
I was not always like him
I wanted more
but his kind
only saw the monster
they made me
as much as he did
and in time
I became
all my maker
despised
about himself
and now
I understand even this

From me:

Paraprosdokians are figures of speech which are twisted in an unexpected and humorous way. Some examples include:

Dorothy Parker: “If all the girls who attended the Yale prom were laid end to end, I wouldn’t be a bit surprised.”

Winston Churchill: “You can always count on the Americans to do the right thing—after they have tried everything else”

Albert Einstein: “The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.”

Andretti: “If everything seems under control, you’re just not going fast enough.”

Zsa zsa Gabore: “He taught me housekeeping; when I divorce I keep the house.”

H.L. Mencken: “For every complex problem, there is an answer that is short, simple–and wrong.”

Write a poem which includes a paraprosdokian.

birds gotta fly, fishes gotta swim, and there’s nothing wrong with being a penguin
just try to avoid Batman…

after spending all day teaching yoga
the bump on a log goes for a jog
and practices judo wit the fly on the wall
who never really pays any attention
to anything but the wall, if you like that
particular wall, it’d be great to be the fly
but if you’re interested in the conversation
the fly is only wishing they would shut up
and let him enjoy his wall in peace

how come when someone gives me
a piece of their mind
I never get peace of mind?

and people shouldn’t be giving pieces of their minds anyway
most people don’t have enough to spare

and those who do
have a big head about it
more room

I need a little elbow room
and a little closet for my knuckles
maybe a gazebo for my knees
and a cupboard for my neck
and be sure my nose has room to breathe

I’m glad I don’t have square feet
that would make it really hard to walk

Leave a Reply

