NaPoWriMo 2015 Day 23

From Chris:

“Write an 8 line ‘intersection’ poem. Decide what that means for you.”
(8 lines or more, right?)

I tried to write
an intersection poem
but cars kept honking
and people kept yelling
and telling me to get out
of the street

I tried to write
a turn only poem
but
same problem
get out of the street

next time I write
a poem
I’ll first invest
in orange cones
and barricades
and have the street to myself

then I’ll write
about what happens
when the wall gets priority
over the water main
the main gets blocked off
pressure builds
and it all eventually bursts
and erodes foundations
and the wall crumbles

when the main is neglected
the wall doesn’t last
everyone looses

but when their interests intersect
everyone benefits

From me:

Tawddgyrch Cadwynog is a Welsh form made of quatrains of four syllable lines. There is an end rhyme scheme of A, B, B, C, and the first syllable of the first line of the second quatrain rhymes with A, and the first syllable of the fourth line of the second quatrain rhymes with C. The end rhymes of the second quatrain are different than the first, a following quatrain would repeat stanza 2’s A and C rhymes in the first and fourth line and so forth. Write a Tawddgyrch Cadwynog of at least four stanzas.

why did I pick
such a tough form
against the norm
a difficult

trick, but I do
like the challenge
though there is fringe
fault in that I

pick prompts to make
variety
and just maybe
my choice was odd

take the name of
the form, can you
pronounce it too?
God knows I can’t

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. NaPoWriMo Day 24 – Prompt for April 24, 2015 | POETRYisEVERYTHING

    Leave a Reply

