NaPoWriMo Day 24, 25 2017

I forgot something important…
But I think I remember it now…

Isn’t being mysterious fun 🙂

Day 24:
From the amazing Chris Jarmick: “Write a poem about the alphabet, or letters, or your favorite or least favorite letters of the alphabet, or a relationship you have with one or more letters of an alphabet. The poem should be in English but the alphabet could be other than English. You get the idea.”

I

The above is the shortest poem in the English language, its an acrostic and it contains the entire universe.

I’d forgotten
and I compromised
on too much
I might still compromise
its a bad habit
and some limitations
are hard to let go of

I

its a word
a letter
a state of being

sometimes
it gets lost
in the needs and wants
of other I’s

but
there is only one
I that I am stuck with

so
perhaps
its time
to remember
once again
that this I
the only one I have
needs to be
a priority
sometimes
if not more

Day 25:

Upside-down is the theme, write a poem.

Another prompt that I don’t know what to do with that Chris is blaming me for coming up with…

Okay, I’m not going to write about a cake…
Not going to write about Australia…

How about this:

a bird
landed on my toe
I shivered
my knees buckled
and my hips swayed
I clenched my stomach
tightened my chest
ignored the pain in my neck
and the top of my head
and stood as still as I could
hoping
the sparrow
wouldn’t fly off
carrying me to its nest

Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

